I have a love/hate relationship with Martha Stewart. My earliest memories of her were in 1993, when my grandmother was watching her and constantly parroting Stewart’s catchphrase, “It’s a good thing!” I was 9, and anything my grandma liked, I staunchly opposed. She continued to leave a sour taste in my mouth until a decade later. When Martha shacked up in the pokey in 2004, I thought it was pretty cool that a classy broad like her could a) break the law and b) tough it out! It’s totally Suzy Homemaker with an edge – even if that edge comes with hospital corners. And seriously, she made some good friends while in jail! When she walked out of that West Virginian jailhouse, she was wearing a pretty cozy looking poncho, made for her by a fellow inmate – didn’t that remind anyone else of the scene in Bridget Jones’ Diary where Renee Zellweger handed out bras to her foreign inmates? No? Anyone? Buehler? Moving on . . .

Regardless of my past distaste for the hostess with the mostess, I’m pretty sure I want to be Martha Stewart these days. I know, I know – I’m a stereotypical product of white-bread suburbs sometimes. I’m learning how to channel Martha in small doses; using her ideas, color schemes, recipes, etc. for good, rather than multimedia conglomerate evil! I mean, sometimes she’s just so spot on!

Now that I’ve cleared the air on my Martha-thoughts, I wanted to share a recipe from her that I think is just lovely. It’s so satisfying to use fresh farmers market produce to make a simple salad, and this is a tasty little medley that I couldn’t keep to myself. Stop by our market tomorrow (Friday) from 2 – 6 and get the fixin’s for your weekend treats!

Roasted Fingerling and Tomato Salad with Green Beans and Arugula

mla103528_0608_roasted_l

Ingredients

Serves 4 to 6

img_2821

FOR THE SALAD

  • 5 garlic cloves – Guinea Hen
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 pounds Russian banana fingerling potatoes, halved lengthwise – Elkdale or Happy Cat Organics
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes
  • 4 stems fresh thyme –Guinea Hen
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 3 ounces green beans – Inverbrook Farm
  • 2 cups baby arugula
IMG_2967

FOR THE DRESSING
  • 2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced fresh thyme – Guinea Hen
  • 1/2 shallot, minced
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

IMG_3033

Directions

  1. Make the salad: Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Puree garlic and oil in a blender until smooth. Toss with potatoes, tomatoes, and thyme on a rimmed baking sheet. Season with salt and pepper. Bake until potatoes are golden and tender, about 30 minutes. Let cool slightly.
  2. Prepare an ice-water bath. Cook green beans in a large pot of boiling salted water until bright green and just tender. Transfer to ice-water bath. When cool, drain beans in a colander.
  3. Make the dressing: Combine vinegar, mustard, thyme, and shallot in a small bowl. Add oil in a slow, steady stream, whisking until emulsified.
  4. Toss potato mixture, beans, and arugula with dressing. Season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately or at room temperature.

recipe courtesy of marthastewart.com

