Our forecast is lookin’ good for this holiday weekend and will most likely find most of us local residents flocking to the beach – I know I’ll be there! This summer though, I’ll be planning ahead for my weekend adventures by stopping at the KSQ Farmers Market tomorrow. On these hot summer expeditions, I find myself experiencing deja vu in strange towns with less than steller grocery stores, and never do I see a farmers market when I need one – so I’ll be packing up my local veggies and meats and bringing them with me this time around!

Elkdale Farm has some great new potatoes that they’ve been selling out of, and I am going to make sure that I get to them before anyone else! The 4th of July is a perfect weekend for potato salads, so why not follow tradition? Of course, traditions are fun to tweak – here’s one of my favorite recipes from one of my favorite food blogs, Chocolate & Zucchini. Clotilde, a Parisian living in Montmarte (swoon!) keeps me on my toes with new takes on old favorites. Please try this one out at home and pack it up for your sunny weekend, post haste!

Salade de Pomme de Terre au Paprika Fume

Smoked Paprika Potato Salad

pdtgribiche

Little over 1 pound of new potatoes, peeled in alternating stripes
Olive oil
Salt, pepper
1 hard-boiled egg, chopped
1 scant tablespoon capers
1 shallot, peeled and minced
1 teaspoon strong mustard
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon paprika
A handful of flat-leaf parsley, chopped

Serves 2 to 3 (the recipe can be doubled or tripled).

Blanch and roast the potatoes: Preheat the oven to 220°C (425°F). Put the potatoes in a medium saucepan, cover with cold water, cover with a lid, and bring to a boil. Drain immediately, let cool for a minute, cut in two-bite wedges (wear kitchen gloves if your fingers are sensitive to heat), and transfer to a baking dish large enough to accommodate them in a single layer. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, toss to coat, and roast until golden and crusty, about an hour.

In the meantime, prepare the dressing: combine in a salad bowl the egg, capers, shallot, mustard, vinegar, pimentón, a bit of salt and pepper, and 2 1/2 tablespoons olive oil.

When the potatoes are ready, add them to the salad bowl, toss gently to coat, and fold in the parsley. Let cool to slightly warm or at room temperature. Taste, adjust the seasoning, and serve.

image & recipe courtesy of c&z

If there’s extra – pack some up and share it with your favorite Farmers Market ladies! See you Friday!

