The weather is getting warmer, the sun is shining longer, and that means market season is almost here! We officially open in 58 days  – but who’s counting? Oh, that’s right – us!

But what to do during these times of lustful waiting? For those of us who aren’t vendors of farmers markets, smaller scale projects are a good way to pass the time.  Since I love little DIY projects, whether it be cooking, planting, or crafting, I will keep this little ol’ blog updated with food-related exploits!

A few weeks ago, I picked up Heidi Swanson’s cookbook, Super Natural Cooking from our favorite local garden center, Terrain At Styers. I read through it a few times and took some mental notes – she’s got great ideas for building your own personal natural foods cupboard efficiently – and by the time I was finished, I had dog-eared over half of her recipes for trial!

I settled on two separate recipes that centered around a few of my favorite things – garlic, asparagus, and little potatoes!I set off to the kitchen, where I located almost everything I needed for “Hedgehog Potatoes” (thinly sliced potatoes with garlic and a yogurt-mint-garlic dipping sauce) and “Stray and Hay Fettucini” (spinach and asparagus pesto with spinach fettucini and freshly grated romano cheese!). A (very bright) green meal for a green holiday, right?

The recipes were simple but slightly time consuming – which, to me, is the perfect combination! I like taking the time to gather my ingredients, slowly prepare them, and enjoy myself while mulling over the food – it reminds me of how the French must cook, by putting thought into each moment all the while gearing themselves up for the grand finale – consumption!

Here are a few photos of the book, along with my eventual dinner in varying stages. Making a cameo is my favorite pepper grinder, a gift to me from Aimee Olexy of Talula’s Table (Kennett Square’s favorite daily market). Don’t mind the beer – it was St. Patrick’s Day, after all! And, word has is that the author, Heidi Swanson, has family in the Kennett Square area and actually spent some time last year at our farmers market – talk about six degrees of separation!

